the beauty of decay

by Chantal

abandoned angel - photo by chantal powell

abandoned angel - photo by chantal powell

When we moved into our house a few years ago I found this small hanging angel (I think its a little bird bath) in our overgrown garden. Its the kind of thing that if I saw new in a shop I would hate but as it stands here – broken, rusty, its shape and colour altered by the elements and life growing over it – I find it utterly beautiful! I think its the fact that time has made it from something mass produced into something unique with a history.

I am a bit addicted to objects that have their history and life carved into them. To be able to run your hand over the worn in grooves of a chair and wonder who else has sat there, what they did and thought at that moment. There is no appeal for me in perfectly restored antiques – rather than a restoration I feel that the life the object has lived has been stripped away from it. Like the well worn child’s toy that reflects the love bestowed upon it, the battered object in a junk shop has a rich story to tell so I say forget Ikea and fill your home with these wonderful emotive treasures!