Thank You

by Chantal

At the risk of sounding very Oprah, the last 4 months have been a bit of a journey of self discovery. The starting point of which was the difficult admission that the sole role of being a mother was leaving me unfulfilled, isolated and depressed. Properly embracing my creativity, probably for the first time in my life, has bought a sense of identity, renewed passion and purpose. In all honesty that change wouldn’t have been possible without a particular friend who was able to see that desire and potential within me. The same friend who, despite living miles away and having only really known me for a few months at that point, was the only person both brave and insightful enough to suggest to me that I may be depressed and went on to help me deal with it.

I’m reading a book at the moment called The Artists Way  by Julia Cameron, that was given to me by another thoughtful friend. I really identified with how the book talked about some people being afraid to take their own creativity seriously and as a result feeling life to be, “a discontented experience, filled with a sense of missed purpose and unfulfilled promise.”

It also stated,

“One of our chief needs as creative beings is support. Unfortunately, this can be hard to come by. . . As young artists, we need and want to be acknowledged for our attempts and efforts as well as for our achievements and triumphs. Unfortunately, many artists never receive this critical early encouragement. As a result, they may not know they are artists at all”

This is what my friend provided for me. As well as being an inspiration with his own work he encouraged me to explore what I was passionate about and provided a safe playground to experiment with thoughts and ideas. It was, and still is, a place to make mistakes (something that is inevitable and essential to learn and grow) and not feel humiliated.  His encouragement and support has made me confident to now share with others and, most importantly, to believe in myself.

He has said that I would have gotten there anyway without his help but I honestly doubt that and even if I had it wouldn’t have been at this moment in time. I don’t know where my journey will take me but I do know through his friendship he has provided me with an invaluable gift that will now always be part of my life and that I will always treasure and be thankful for.

Thanks Dean!