In The Background?

by Chantal

Hoping For More - Chantal 2008

My Thoughts Of You - Chantal 2008

Here are a couple of self portraits taken recently. What I liked about the one above is the contrast of the different textures – the brush marks of the whitewashed walls, the irregular waves and indentations of the bedding. I really like those things as a backdrop and it made me think more about the role subtle things in a background can lend to a narrative and feeling about a picture, as opposed to just the main subject. In the second picture I prefer the figure – mainly because of the placing of the lighting contrast on the face I think – but the background textures are much less interesting. Given me something to think about for next time which is good!

Waiting For The Morning - Chantal 2008