Glass Slipper

by Chantal

Having had a few goes playing around with painting as a medium this is the first piece I have done with a set goal in mind. I wanted a light hearted look at the romantic interplay between fantasy and reality, of depicting dreams of escape and beauty. Really enjoyed doing this and I definitely think I will be using painting as a tool in the future. I am excited about combining it with other mediums as I think that it adds to the feeling of layering that I enjoy so much. By the way the dress in the self portrait is a vintage, lace wedding dress (1940’s) that you will no doubt be seeing more of  – it’s a beautiful thing!

Glass Slipper (2008). Acrylic, colour photocopy, and glitter on canvas. 14x11 inches

Glass Slipper (2008). Acrylic, colour photocopy, and glitter on canvas. 14x11 inches

detail from painting - photocopied self portrait with glitter

detail from painting - photocopied self portrait with glitter