Confetti – work in progress!

by Chantal

I thought I’d put some pictures of this work in progress partly because I’m a little unsure of where its going and I thought taking some pics and writing something may help make some decisions. Any thoughts greatly appreciated as well.

Since buying the vintage wedding dress that I plan to eventually work into a sculptural piece, I’ve been thinking about the romantic ideals of “The Wedding Day”. Particularly the importance of these ideals to women, their origination  in childhood fantasies, stories and the media, and how unrelated to the actual concept and experience of marriage itself these ideals actually are.

I wanted to contrast the solemnity, and permanence of the wedding vows with the ephemeral nature of elevated wedding day dreams. I started with the plan of handwriting the vows repeatedly over a large area and then having confetti thrown over the top. I’ve always found something incredibly compelling and seductive about something handwritten over and over  and wanted to convey something of that intensity and force. Unfortunately the handwritten version on paper didn’t visually do what I wanted it to do so I have moved on to a type written version. (I do still like the idea of handwriting completely covering a wall – so may try that at some point). I also came across an old typewriter a couple of days ago and quite like the idea of incorporating this some way, perhaps as part of an installation.

Anyway here are a couple of pics of where I am so far . . .

in progress

in progress

in progress

in progress