Confetti/Vows – work in progress

by Chantal

Confetti. Installation view. 2009

Confetti. Installation view. 2009

Taking advantage of the weather yesterday I went down to the woods and took some installation pics of the “confetti” work outside. Its a bit different from what I have in mind for how I’d install things in a gallery space but was good to try it out in a new way.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.

What I really enjoyed while doing this was peoples reactions. Everybody who walked past stopped to ask me about what I was doing. There was genuine interest and fascination and I think because of the environment it was in, as opposed to an intimidating gallery, people felt free to ask me about what the words were, what they meant, and why I was doing it. One group of walkers watched me putting things up for a while and when I told them I would be taking it down after I had photographed it, said how pleased they were to have come along at that moment and been able to see it.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.

Confetti. Detail from installation view. 2009.