Moving Forward!

by Chantal

I’ve very recently sold my pottery painting business to give me more time to concentrate on my art practice. With only two days off childcare duties a week –  making glass products for a shop, running the pottery business, and trying to pursue a career in arts, just wasn’t working out!

I started the “paint your own pottery” business from scratch in 2004  when Pottery Cafes were still quite a new thing over in the UK. I have to say I did really enjoy starting my own business and its been satisfying seeing it grow from a local mobile service to a web based UK wide mail order service. With my heart in a very different place now though, I was more than happy to see it sold (for over the asking price!) and freeing up a lot more time, space, and money to dedicate to art!

Okay so it wasn't Dom Perignon but still ..

Okay so it wasn't Dom Perignon but still ..

Last weekend I finished training the very lovely lady who is going to take over the business and handed over the last of my stock and equipment (with the exception of my kiln that I’ll be keeping for glass work). Champagne was opened that evening and I’m absolutely relishing the fresh start ahead of me tomorrow!

The plan is to put some of the money from the business sale aside to fund an MA in fine arts in the next year or so, and some of it to convert my garage/pottery workshop into a more usable studio space. I had a builder come round this weekend to chat about possibilities for the space and I’m now eagerly awaiting quotes to see if i can justify those lovely roof windows as well as walls that don’t leak and a door that blows through a gale in winter!
My soon to be transformed studio space!!

My soon to be transformed studio space!!

Exciting times!!