working with resin

by Chantal

I’ve wanted to try working with resin for a while now. I suppose the idea of preserving things in resin is just another symbol of trying to capture or keep hold of precious things, something I seem to be persistently drawn to do.

Like moments that are precious to me in my own life I feel compelled to box, preserve behind glass, and even attempt to breathe life back into forgotten objects that were once part of someones life story. 

untitled, 2009. Side view of resin blocks showing flower partially embedded in first block, fully embedded in second, embedded and disintegrating in third.

untitled, 2009. Side view of resin blocks showing flower partially embedded in first block, fully embedded in second, embedded and disintegrating in third.

detail of first resin block with partially embedded rose

detail of first resin block with partially embedded rose

I think I fear the unstoppable passage of time and its potential to take away beauty. Beauty in the sense of moments passing, becoming less vivid. I  desperately try to cling onto these things and often mourn their passing. Futile and foolish because the truth is that much of their beauty is in their fragility and temporality.  Just as the caged nightingales’ song would never sound as sweet as when heard for a fleeting moment from its branch so these precious moments of life come to us as unexpected gifts.