windows204

by Chantal

work by Lucy Linder at windows204

work by Lucy Linder at windows204

More good news yesterday when I heard that I’d been allocated a slot to show my work at windows204 from 30th August to 13th September. windows204 occupies the windows of a shop on the busy Glouster road in Bristol. It provides artists with the opportunity to show work that may not suit the commercial gallery set-up, often using the space in innovative and experimental ways. They state,

” our aim is to bring art to all members of the community through display in the window and a continuing dialogue with the public about what art can be”

For me it will mean an opportunity to install work on a larger scale in a public place for the first time which is something I have been keen to do. The piece I submitted to show  is still a bit of a work in progress but will be using a suspended vintage wedding dress that has been  deconstructed through burning and stitching, and a collection of genuine love letters from the 1930’s.

dsc_0019

 By using these items which already carry heavy emotional weight and symbolism I intend to encourage questioning about the nature of love and longing, and our desire for romanticism.