Art Space open studios

by Chantal

Yesturday I went along to check out the open studios at Art Space in Portsmouth. Art Space currently has 29 studios located at the converted Brougham Road Chapel in Southsea and a membership of 45 artists.
I always felt sorry for the monsters in the movies, Phil Illingworth

I always felt sorry for the monsters in the movies, Phil Illingworth

The artist whose work I found most inspiring, and one of the reasons I made the trip yesterday, was that of  Natalie Dowse (you can check out her blog on my blogroll). Her paintings mix the traditional medium of oil painting with the temporal quality of snapshot photography or CCTV footage. Her resulting images have a fascinating draw and an unusual mix of beauty with a sense of disconnectedness.

Other artists whose work I particularly enjoyed included Phil Illingworth, Mike Barlett, Patti Gaal-Holmes (who unfortunately wasn’t showing work yesterday but I whose short film “despite the snow” I saw at ASPEX), and Andrea Stokes. Check out their work via the links on their names and you can also see the other artists who are part of Art Space via the main Art Space website.

Constellation, 2007, Natalie Dowse

Constellation, 2007, Natalie Dowse

One in a million, 2008, Naltalie Dowse

One in a million, 2008, Natalie Dowse