she murmured, “glimpses”

by Chantal

she murmured, "glimpses", 2009. Reclaimed window frame, vintage lace fragments, gold thread, nails, rope.

she murmured, "glimpses", 2009. Reclaimed window frame, vintage lace fragments, gold thread, nails, rope.

Not the best photograph, found it a tricky one to capture well. Would be better to get a photo when it is properly installed somewhere but husband wasn’t too keen on me attaching two large hooks to the ceiling just so I could suspend my window nicely!

Detail. Vintage lace offcuts & gold thread

Detail. Vintage lace offcuts & gold thread

 

I really enjoyed working on this piece, slowly taking my time to stitch together the different fragments of lace whilst wondering what garments, objects, and life events they originated from. Maybe it was partly because I worked on the piece in the evenings of my relaxing French holiday but I felt the process to be really quite meditative and edifying.  I found myself reflecting on my connection with the women who both worked and used these pieces of lace in the past and marvelling again how an object as simple as a piece of material can carry with it such a strong essence of its past.