Work on show and hoping to show!

by Chantal

I’ve been writing proposals to try and get on the road to putting on a solo exhibition. I’ve written an application for funding from the Immaterial Art Fund, a fund established in memory of Vickie Paniale to help promote the work of young artists who share her particular areas of interest. My work fits in with their requirements of being related to the theme of time and fits one of their required categories of media – installation works. They fund up to £1000 of work to include devlopment of new work and exhibiting of work.

how_to_apply_image

Freezing by Yunju Hwang. Shown in Westbourne Grove Artspace.

In terms of where to exhibit I have put in an application to show at Westbourne Grove Church Artspace, a contemporary exhibition space in the heart of Notting Hill. The space looks fantastic and I think my work would sit really well in the meditative context of the building. They have told me their next review meeting to decide on the exhibitions for the later half of 2010 will be after Christmas so fingers crossed for then. Likewise The Immaterial Art Ffund say they hopefully let people know within three months.

Fingers also crossed for the 3 pieces that I took up to Poole yesterday. The three pieces I submitted to the Reopen exhibition all got through to second round of judging so yesterday I drove up with them and set them up for the viewing which I think is happening today. They said they will probably let us know tomorrow and then unselected work will have to be collected Monday. I really hope I’m not making a trip back to collect all three – even though they do good cake at the Lighthouse.

010704

Scrimshaw, Drawing on Lace Handkerchief, 2009 by Vered Lahav

Tomorrow I’m going back to the West Midlands for a few days to catch up with my parents and friends. While there I’m going to the private view of Vered Lahav’s work Sleepless at Wolverhampton Gallery which looks amazing! Her work is right up my street. On the Thursday I’m planning on going to Solihull to see Kirsty E Smith’s show Close Encounters Of A Frillip Moolog Kind. I’ve got to know her a little over the internet after admiring her creations – check them out they are fab!

19Tall-Legs-detail

Tall Legs by Kirsty E. Smith