All at once

by Chantal

All At Once, 2010. Girls communion gloves, found nest.

I picked up all these girls communion gloves in Brittany in France about a year ago. They were stuffed in the back of a very musty cupboard in a huge warehouse type place that they open up once a month to sell second hand items for charity. Some of the gloves were stapled or safety pinned together with their matching counterpart, some were singles – their partner glove having gone astray at some point in time. I had to buy them all (despite the odd look from the lady selling them to me) even though I had no idea what I’d be doing with them. Such wonderful items with very powerful associations.

A few weeks ago they finally found their rightful place in a piece with another item I have been hanging onto for a while – a discarded bird’s nest that was found and given to me by my neighbour. The nest with its obvious associations of nurture and potential sits well with the innocence and ceremonial coming of age /discovery that the gloves signify. I find it interesting that some of the work I have been making of late has tended towards a romantic exploration of childhood, even though that has not been something I have set out intentionally to do.