Project in Progress

by Chantal

Here are some pics of an installation project that is currently in progress that uses reclaimed windows, gold leaf, and projected found slides. The working title for the project is This Place Is A Million Miles From Here and it explores the intangible moments and ideals we hold in the corner of our mind’s eye. “An elusive dream, a memory of a moment elevated and enhanced in beauty as if seen by candlight, or an indeterminate hope that colours all that is seen in reality.”

studio shot of window without projection

The largest window is one of a large number that was given to me by Frauke Materlik via Natalie Dowse who is an artist and part time manager of Art Space Portsmouth where Frauke recently completed an artists’ residency and created her lastest installation. You can see what Frauke created with the windows here.

So far I have been making the windows up individually. Although I have thoughts on what I want the overall installation to look like (and the feelings I’d like it to generate)  I think the way in which the piece is finally displayed will depend on the space in which it is installed. I’m still in need of a space to exhibit this work so if anyone has any offers let me know!

Detail from project in progress, Chantal Powell

Detail from project in progress, Chantal Powell

Detail from project in progress, Chantal Powell