A Good Art Week

by Chantal

proposal sketch

Its been a good week. Busy but good! I’ve been polishing up and packaging up works for Here Today which opens next week and a couple of small pieces for Austerity Xmas which opens on the 10th.

Projects and pieces in progress have been put temporally on hold as I heard that my proposal for ARC’s Alternative Christmas Tree was selected to go on show in ASPEX gallery, Portsmouth this December, so I have just over a week to put that together. This is the proposed sketch, “Desire”- I’ll post pictures when it goes up on the 6th. Its a fun one to make with lots of gold, vintage pearls and a taxidermy magpie, so looking forward to it.

Contemporary Eye: Crossovers. Pallant House, Chichester

Yesterday I went to check out Contemporary Eye: Crossovers at Pallant House in Chichester with friend/artist Dean Melbourne. I’ve been wanting to go since it opened at it didn’t disappoint. The show is wonderfully curated – the selected artists works so very at home in the exquisite surroundings and alongside each other.

I’m a sucker for a experiencing a sense of discovery and fairytale in an exhibition so things like the placement of Polly Morgan‘s treasures either side of a gorgeous four poster bed, and Bouke de Vrie’s work inside a wooden cabinet are perfect.

A favourite work of both Dean and I was Nina Saunders’ Fox With Luggage, and Debbie Lawson‘s Secret Garden looked great against the backdrop of Damien Hirst wallpaper and nearby Jeff Koons puppy vase on an antique side board.

I think what most excited me was the interaction between different objects and the environment. Having Dean there was great as the exhibition got us both thinking and talking a lot about our own work and progressions of our collaborative work.  The permanent collection at Pallant House was also fantastic  and we left after a good few hours very inspired and excited to get back into our work.

Secret Garden, Debbie Lawson

Oh and to cap off my good art week feeling I just found out this afternoon that AXIS have used the image of my Siren piece on their lovely marketing flyers. Yes this week is definitely a week where it all feels good!  Nice 🙂