DEBUT launched!

by Chantal

Back from a couple of days in london during the launch of DEBUT. The gallery space had been completely refurbished for the launch and the gallery renamed from Salon Contemporary to Debut Contemporary (I believe that the “Salon Contemporary” gallery will be continuing in a new location). I have to say I don’t think I have ever seen such a turn out at a gallery private view before. By 6:30 the queue for entry was well past the red carpet laid outside and headed up the road! The queue continued all night until the event closed after nine. It was so busy that many unfortunately didn’t make it in but they have promised to return in the coming days to see the work.

I was delighted to find that my work had been showcased in the window and on the evening I received a lot of very positive feedback about it. It was great to finally meet Bouke de Vries whose work I am a big fan of and to have a drink  with some of the Debut artists who I had been looking forward to talking to in person. There was also a very interesting conversation regarding a potential collaboration that I very much hope will move forward over the coming weeks.

All in all a great evening. Thank you to Samir, Zoe, Sophia and the rest of the Debut team for a successful launch and special thank you for my most excellent friend who came down from the Midlands to share it with me!

The pictures below were taken by  Patrick Colhoun (one of the other exhibiting artists) who kindly texted them to me for this post. The gallery had photographers taking lots of images during the night so I will post a link to those as well as to the film footage when they are available.

finishing pre-launch touches taking place and my piece "Siren" in the window