Work on Show in ARC at ASPEX

by Chantal

I’m really pleased that as of today some of my work will be on show in the ARC space at ASPEX gallery, Portsmouth.

ARC were part of the start of my artistic journey three years ago when I first had a meeting with resident artist Jonathan Parsons for advice on how to seriously pursue a career in this field I am so passionate about. A fantastic resource for contemporary visual artists in the South East area, ARC not only offers one to one advice “surgeries” such as the one I attended but also regular peer review groups, workshops and symposia. For more information visit www.arc-home.org.uk

I went to install the work today. The three works on display all reference intimacy and secrecy. It’s the first outing for my latest piece The Collector which was inspired by John Fowles’ novel of the same name in which a reclusive collector of butterflies kidnaps the object of his obsession – a beautiful girl called Miranda.  My piece explores the idea of passions transforming into obsessions, of secrets collected and admired in the darkness of our minds.

Detail from "The Collector", 2011

The two other pieces which I felt worked well alongside The Collector are, The Dance (a small digital print of two lovers dancing) and Things Left Unsaid (three ring boxes tightly bound with gold thread).

Detail from, The Dance, 2009

The Dance, 2009 and Things Left Unsaid, 2010. Installation view ARC at ASPEX Gallery

My work will be viewable in the ARC space during March while S. Mark Gubb’s exhibition How Should I Live (Maybe That’s Not The Question) is on show in the main gallery. Gubb’s exhibition, “offers us the opportunity to probe our ambitions, beliefs and values, by asking us to make choices as we navigate our way through the gallery”.

ARC at ASPEX, The Vulcan Building, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth.

open daily 11am-4pm. 023 9277 8080