Review of Wonderland Event at Debut

by Chantal

Saturday I loaded all my vintage crockery and brass candlesticks into the boot of the car, carefully wiggled my light sculpture tree (completed with just a day to spare!) into the footwell, and headed to London for Debut Contemporary Gallery.

Latest work: "My Beautiful, Childish Dreams", 2011. Chantal Powell. (image courtesy of Coralie)

Each Saturday Debut Contemporary is holding a “meet the artist” event whereby one of the artists they represent hosts a performance or talk for the visiting public. I chose to host an Alice in Wonderland themed event – discussing the huge impact this story has had over the years on our artistic culture and also exploring the themes that are inspirational to my own work.

Besides the talk the event included a tea party (I must confess that my home made tarts went a little awry the night before so there was a last minute stop to the supermarket), and a set of games for the audience to take part in. I’d made two small artwork pieces from resin and found objects for winners of two of the games, and a second hand copy of Alice In Wonderland went to a member of the winning team of the third game.

Tea Party. Image courtesy of Coralie

image courtesy of Debut

I really enjoyed sharing something of what inspires my artwork in this fun and accessible way. Some very lovely people attended, one of them being Coralie – author of “Tea Time In Wonderland – La magie de Londres” blog. She took beautiful pictures of the event which she has very kindly let me use and wrote a wonderful review of the day. (Click the screenshot below to go to the full review.)

Review by Coralie - click to go to full article

The article she wrote made it to the  front page of Paris-based Hellocoton today (18th April) – a french social platform for discovering and sharing the best womens’ blog content and Dorothys Gallery in Paris left a complementary comment about the exhibition on the blog.